Long Day With Great Rewards

Rich Schools
Old Man In The Woods
3 min readJun 27, 2016

We left Peter’s Mountain Shelter early and didn’t waste time on the trail. Although the terrain is rocky and rough, most of the hiking north of the Susquehanna River is along the ridge line. The trail is rocky and rough, but at least it is flat.

I heard a story that when hiking boot manufacturers developed an new boot, to test them, they send a person hiking in Pennsylvania. I’m not sure how true it is, but it is believable.

We did make pretty good time and were able to have a nice rest next to a beautiful creek, completing just under 7 miles by 10:30 am.

Shortly after our break we saw another bit of Trail Magic, someone had put a bunch of cans of pop in a creek next to the trail. These people are starting to restore my faith in humanity.

After getting back to the top of the mountain, we hiked along the ridge line for most of the day arriving to a place called Rausch Gap.

Rausch Gap area is not only a beautiful area but, the history I find fascinating, knowing that this was once a thriving and prosperous village for almost 100 years.

I also have a special connection to this place, when I was young my first backpacking trip was with my Boy Scouts Troop hiking the Appalachian Trail to this site. My love of the outdoors and respect for the trail was solidified. I knew that I wanted to hike the entire trail, even back then. Sometimes life gets in the way of childhood dreams. A career in the Navy, marriage, children, divorce, single parenthood, remarriage, living far away.

Don’t miss understand, I have no regrets and would not change anything in the past. I am just blessed that after all that life, I have the opportunity to do this.

We sat and took a break by Rausch Creek having totaled 18 miles but, it was only 3:00pm. If we hiked into the next valley we would be at Swatara Gap, halfway through the state and close to my sister Lynn’s house. That would mean a hot shower and sleeping in a bed.

Only 6.1 miles more to go.

With packs on we headed out and made the last few miles with relative ease, or we were too tired to know any different. After 24.1 miles our sisters, Lynn and Anita, were waiting with cold water.

After a hot shower a meal not cooked in a plastic bag, it was time to sleep.

--

--

Rich Schools
Old Man In The Woods

I’m hiking the Appalachian Trail with my brother Ed.