Saving the Best for Last

Rich Schools
Old Man In The Woods
2 min readJul 3, 2016

Today was our last day to hike. With my flight home leaving tomorrow, we had one last chance to get some trail covered. We chose to cover the area from highway 501 to Port Clinton. It is a 23.6 mile stretch that is mostly along the ridge of the mountain.

After completing today we have totaled 191.8 miles of a possible 240 miles in Pennsylvania.

Having the advantage of slack packing, made the walk much easier, and afforded us the opportunity to enjoy the hike. We were blessed with the best weather that we have seen so far. The temperature was mild, the humidity low, the sun was never beating down on us, it was the perfect day.

We hiked past overlooks, that with clear skies, we could see all the way to across the valley to the next mountain range.

We passed babbling brooks, that were almost storybook in their beauty.

We got a lesson in history passing by a location that was once a lookout post during the French and Indian war in 1755.

We bumped into hikers that we had camped with over a week and a half ago. I even found a Nebraska Husker fan waiting to meet his wife that was hiking.

Today was one of the best days hiking that I can ever remember, and the perfect way to end this adventure. The woods seemed almost magical today, probably because I do not know when I will be able to return.

I am reminded of the ending of one of my favorite poems,

“The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep, and miles to go before I sleep.”

--

--

Rich Schools
Old Man In The Woods

I’m hiking the Appalachian Trail with my brother Ed.