The Adventure Starts!

Rich Schools
Old Man In The Woods
2 min readJun 19, 2016

18 June 2016

6:15 am boarding a plane in Omaha. Damn it’s early, what was I thinking when I booked this flight, Hopefully I can sleep on the plane.

9:50 am Laying over in Orlando, I guess I was more interested in what time I would get to Baltimore than, where I was going in between. In retrospect, I should probably leave all future plane reservations to my wife, she has much more common sense than I do.

1:15 pm Landed in Baltimore, got rather nostalgic when we flew over Annapolis, where I had lived for a few years. Grew a lot as a person raising 3 kids as a single parent, and also met my wife Amy. Many good things happened for me while I was in Annapolis.

Got picked up at the airport by my brother Ed and my sister Anita. Drove directly to the town of Penn Mar. Had a fantastic meal at a restaurant called Rolling Mill. The burger with crab dip is amazing.

5:00 pm Finally got started hiking. Left Penn Mar park and hiked north.

8:00 pm arrived at Deer Lick Shelter (about 5 miles). Spending the night.

BONUS: Ed doing the dead bug

--

--

Rich Schools
Old Man In The Woods

I’m hiking the Appalachian Trail with my brother Ed.