Zero Days Can Be Productive, Too

Rich Schools
Old Man In The Woods
2 min readJun 24, 2016

Being that I am getting back into backpacking, zero days are somewhat of a new concept. But sitting at my sister’s dining room table, having breakfast, gives me time to plan tomorrow. Like, how many miles and days till we can resupply?

I also had time to assess what has worked well for us and what did not. For example, the cook pot that I have has a metal plate that while it is heating my food it can also charge my phone.

Great concept, worked every time I have tested it, failed first time in the field. Still works as a pot but because it cannot do both, I would rather carry a lighter one.

When looking through our gear while washing our clothes, we reduced much of the redundancy between us. No need for both of us to carry stoves, one can carry the stove and the other the fuel. By looking over everything we have this way we have managed to cut our pack weight by close to 10 lbs.

That should make us much happy hikers.

The systems we use for filtering and treating our drinking water, were functional, but inefficient, so a quick trip to Cabalas was in order.

After that we drove into my hometown of Lebanon, to go the farmer’s market for some Sweet Lebanon Bologna sticks and some smoked cheddar cheese.

After a wonderful steak dinner at my sister’s, the only thing left to do is play with one of the coolest, and largest golden retrievers I have ever met, Nick.

--

--

Rich Schools
Old Man In The Woods

I’m hiking the Appalachian Trail with my brother Ed.