Glasses Hinges Reworked, Again…

Nancy Rafati
Olimpico Learning
Published in
2 min readJul 6, 2017
Trying out a multitude of different connector pieces.

In the last blog post detailing hinge connector prototypes for the Build Your Vision project, I tried out a swivel connector, and a snap in piece with an angled insertion slot. See here to review:

The hinge connector piece did not connect -the single connector piece (on the right) to insert into the two swivel posts (on the left) was two large, and would not fit properly. Also, they were two small and cracked easily.

They just did not fit properly.

Furthermore, I tried to create a simple snap-in connection with the insertion point on an angle, and this hinge-prototype did not work at all.

However, this is why 3D printing is so great for design -I can create a test hinge prototype, print it out, and within an hour, see where I went wrong, and try (and try) again, until I get it right.

I am testing two new designs. I have reworked my swivel hinges to be larger, and move the swivel posts (on the right) further away from the main base. This should allow for some flexing, as I try to insert the single connector piece (on the left).

I am trying a new snap in connector piece. I will project an insertion piece from the base (on the right), and snap in a cylinder type connector (on the right). The disadvantage of this type of connector is that it will not allow for the glasses to fold up, but it may be more stable.

Because 3D printing allows for multiple prints with quick turnaround, I will be able to print these designs, and have the results -workable or not, within an hour or so, to see where further testing is needed.

--

--

Nancy Rafati
Olimpico Learning

Innovative STEAM Camps -- Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Math, 3D and Writing