STEAM CAMP

Nancy Rafati
Olimpico Learning
Published in
4 min readSep 4, 2022
Picture of students working with laptops at STEAM camp.

To enroll your student during the summer, please reach out to your school principal. ​Thank you school districts for trusting Olimpico Learning with your students!

Our volunteers, teachers, parents, and students provide feedback on their experience with our summer program and share Olimpico Learning’s impact on our community.

Gladys Olivarez, parent and volunteer, My daughter was worried she would not enjoy Olimpico because the subjects frightened her. She worried she would not understand or even be at the same intellectual level as her classmates. But from day one she discovered the big words like biology were doors that led her to areas she was interested in and that helped her. She learned so much and shared it all the way home every day from the moment I picked her up until we got home. She is looking forward to next summer. She did not just have fun and learn, this program also got her thinking of what she wants to do as she reaches adulthood.

​Linda Wells, Global ERP, Apple volunteer, When I was saying goodbye to students, they asked when we are coming back. Students want more advanced versions next year. Now that they know how to build the robot, they can focus on programming and holding contests for picking up small objects.

Wayne Banks, Adobe volunteer, Olimpico Learning is engaging and educational. I really enjoyed interacting with your students, they were focused. They were eager to help me understand the process of engineering and programming their creations. I felt more like a student than a volunteer. I was able to learn a great deal of information in a short period of time.

Olimpico is providing students with the fundamental understanding and experience that will prepare them for successful academic journeys and careers in STEM. This is an experience that every child needs, and I hope that your program grows tremendously so that more children can benefit from this amazing opportunity.

​ Angelica Garibay, parent and volunteer, Great program. My child learned so much during this program. She would come home telling me about all the great science stuff she learned and I’m so happy she learned about the environment, ocean life, and water on earth. This is a big plus because science is rarely touched upon during the year so I’m glad she got so much out of this program.

Lorena Madriz, parent, Verania was very excited to go to Olimpico Learning every day. She would say that they had hands-on projects like planting seeds, learning how to make ice cream, and many others each week so she did not want to miss any day. Olimpico Learning helped me keep my daughter learning and enjoying what she did.

Van Hoang, parent, This is a well-organized program from the signing up to picking up and the lessons in the classrooms. Thanks to the teachers and volunteers for all the hard work. My kids really like the program and they do learn a lot even only in 4 weeks. They love all the projects they did in the class.

Antonio G., student at Voices Academy School thought: The Science projects were awesome because I learned and remembered a lot. I learned how to plant seeds and how to build a solar power oven.

Fiona T., student at Kennedy/Cornerstone Academy Preparatory School thought: I love Olimpico Learning teachers. I told my mom I want to take it next summer with my sister. I want to make ice cream again.

Manuel B., student at Santee Elementary thought: I got to learn how to code and I love it. It was the best experience of my life and I have a great teacher. I met my goal of doing 5 games.

Karina M., student at Theuerkauf Elementary thought: We learned about coding and robotics. We had so much fun with the design and “Build a Hand” project. We used a 3D printer for the first time. It was a great experience.

Angel J., student at Los Posas Elementary thought: My coding experience is the most delightful experience I ever had and my classmates had fun learning how to program games. I am sad because today is the last day. Maybe I can take Olimpico Learning next time again.

Stephanie H., student​ at Castro School thought: We learned and did lots of activities inside the classroom, outside, on the computers, and with our project teams. It was fun so I want to come back.

Originally published at http://www.olimpicolearning.org.

--

--

Nancy Rafati
Olimpico Learning

Innovative STEAM Camps -- Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Math, 3D and Writing