From me to me

Femi Nassi
Olufemi Nassi

--

(Version Française ici)

Hey there young lady, it’s been a while since we’ve talked. Almost a year ago, I sent you a message. People thought I was crazy. They’ll probably think the same while reading this but it’s okay. Because every once and a while, it’s necessary to take time for oneself. Actually, it’s not just necessary, but instead essential. Every once and a while, you have to take time to breath and think, not about others or the world, but about you and your plans; about your life and your goals; about your dreams and your hopes. It sounds selfish I know, but just as much as eating and sleeping are, a time like this is important. So, let’s talk.

I see that you grew up, you are turning into a beautiful young lady. Yes, I said “Beautiful” and you should say it too. I’m not just talking about your physical beauty, but also about your mind and your self esteem. You’ve learnt a lot, I can see it. There is more knowledge and more wisdom in your mind. There is more acceptance and tolerance in your attitude. There is more maturity in your personality. Look at you! I no longer see the insecure little girl. I’m sure she pops up every once and a while but I see more assurance. You look better. It’s wonderful that you start believing in yourself. It’s amazing that you start accepting who you are and what you are meant to do. I’m impressed, I truly am.

Not everything has changed though. I see you smile, a lot. It’s weird because you and I know you, but as long as your smile and joy and genuine, I can only hope for brighter ones. Don’t loose them. For no reason, you should give up on that smile. You probably don’t know it yet, but it will save you in numerous occasions. Like they say, when you smile to the world, the world smiles back. So smile, you know your smile is pretty. I also see that behind that young but mature lady, the crazy little girl is still there. You know, the one who’s always goofing around and jumping/dancing everywhere ? Yes her. Don’t be ashamed. It’s okay to have fun. Actually, no. It’s a necessity. I won’t tell you that life is too short to take it seriously, because it’s precisely because of its shortness that you have to take it seriously. However you also have to remember to live. So live and have fun. Jump! Dance! Laugh! and enjoy your life. Don’t change that, ever. It’s your weapon and never let it go.

Unfortunately, there are some other things that haven’ changed as well. I see that despite all of those achievements, there still is some work to do. That comfort zone that we talked about, do you remember? You got to get out of there. I know it’s hard and scary, but what isn’t? You know that nothing worth it is actually easy to get so you have to get up. I’m not asking you to jump off the first mountain you’ll see but you can start little. Do crazy things, meet new people, talk to strangers, try new activities, travel to unknown areas, challenge yourself! Do baby steps, but start somewhere. Don’t let that fear of judgment and/or failure keep you from doing what you feel like doing. You have to learn to do you and to be you. And it’s only by getting out there and facing this crazy world that you will realize how much power and strength you have. So do it. Do it but be safe and careful. Don’t go all nuts on people and things, lol. Take your time and do it right.

There’s nothing else to say. I’m sure you already know all the things I’m talking about and that you will take them into consideration. I’ll be back and we will have another small chat. We will talk about the new year and how it went. I may even come sooner, it all depends on you. And remember that whenever you need me, all you have to do is to close your eyes, slow your breath, calm down, quiet your mind and focus on you. Do it and you’ll see me. I’ll be here, by your side, always and forever. Happy Birthday young lady!

And just in case you didn’t know,

I am proud of you!

Throughout our lives, we live through the eyes of others. We are constantly looking forward to their remarks, comments, expressions and other forms of return. We devote all our efforts and strength to doing what is good and looks beautiful, but rarely in our own eyes. Whether it is the pictures published on Facebook, the status carefully written, the Snaps, the Tweets, the outfit we are wearing, the major we chose, the goals we have, etc, most of the time we only give value to our actions when others do it. We want to make our family and loved ones proud, we want to see stars in their eyes, we want to be their hope. Once we show them our efforts and accomplishments, and do not receive enough encouragement, support or positive remarks, we lead ourselves towards a road of doubt. So when do we take the time to listen to ourselves? When do we take the time to counsel ourselves?

And more importantly, when do we take the time to congratulate ourselves?

Learn to love yourself, to congratulate, and to advise yourself. You are the only person who knows you and knows your troubles, so listen. Listen to yourself and question yourself. Make the point of your week, your month, your year. Do it and think about it; what have you accomplished? What did you achieved? Did you grow up? Have you matured? Have you made any efforts, real efforts towards the goals and dreams you have? Have you made any efforts to change the flaws that keep you from evolving? Are you proud of yourself?

Do not reject others, never. But give importance and value to those moments with yourself. From time to time, this form of selfishness is needed. So be it. Just for thirty minutes, be selfish and listen to you.

Send yourself a letter, who knows? It might brighten up your day!

--

--