Omar Thinks: Family

Omar Bayramoglu
Omar Thinks
Published in
2 min readNov 23, 2023

--

Family walking wtih groceries.
Photo by Arian Malek khosravi on Unsplash

Family is weird. Sometimes at least. It’s not like we are in a lottery and get chosen. As a practicing Muslim, the Quran is my immediate reference. In it, God says, “And know that your wealth and your children are only a test and that with Allah is a great reward”. I know I have been a test for them, and they have definitely been a test for me.

I’m at my last day at my parent’s house with my wife, kid, and mother-in-law. As I outgrew the family nest, I’m growing one of my own with a wonderful person. Two years ago, I finally had a chance to tell them goodbye after being at home and not being at home because of school. Two years later, I don’t quite know how to put my finger on it. Across the room is my wife. To my left was my little brother giving me life decisions. My sisters do the same.

You know what? Now that I type these words, this was a coming together of my two families. Families are always in flux. My mom lost a brother, sister, and niece in the last few years. My mother-in-law almost lost her brother. At the same time, I have seven nieces and nephews. When I think of our ups and downs as a family, I see that it's a humanizing journey, especially raising my own child. I have a series coming here soon where the beginning is about the human experience and coming together as a society. In between is the family. In the meantime, I’ll keep trying to figure it out. Maybe I never will, but that’s the point, right?

--

--

Omar Bayramoglu
Omar Thinks

After 35 years, I learned how to construct sentences and put together ideas. From NJ to the Bay and now in CT, here's my shot. Thank you for being here.