Omar Thinks: Sin and Ramadan

Omar Bayramoglu
Omar Thinks
Published in
3 min readMar 10, 2024

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

A quick story. It’s foolish, but that’s what writing is about. Sometime in my teenage years, I thought I understood life. I grew up fairly religious. Half of my childhood was in the mosque playing and praying. Somewhere, I didn’t understand addiction, sinning, and the choices we make and that impact. It may have been me rationalizing life. I was told of someone’s problem and thought, What’s wrong with that guy?

I recalled that moment here and there over the years. It happened again a few days prior to writing this. This time though, I realized I never asked God for forgiveness. At least I think I didn’t. Sin, doing acts that go against a standard or guidelines that come with consequences. Ideally, the consequences are deterrents. We’re too random though. Free will is a gift and a curse.

Ramadan is the Muslim month of fasting. No food, drink, or intimacy with a spouse during daylight. No, not even water. There are references in the Prophetic literature of Satan’s minions all being locked up in hell for the month. As a result, whatever comes from us is only from us. What is that going to look like?

To be honest, I don’t know. Shaykh Hamza Yusuf speaks about sacred monotony in an episode of his podcast Sacred Text Messages. It’s important to preoccupy yourself with something. Whether it’s a thing or moment that gets you in trouble with God, replace it with something else. What exactly? I don’t know. Where I am personally? Ya‘ nī, as the Arabs and Turks say. My father told me a bunch growing to take my own advice.

Photo by Rachael Gorjestani on Unsplash

I pray this be a successful Ramadan for me and you. If you haven’t tried it before, do so. One of the benefits is forgiveness from Allah and hopefully others we wronged in the year. Sinning is frustrating, especially those trying to travel the spiritual path. It’s the gunk that slows your tires down. Just like fasting clears intestines, it also clears a path forward. There’s also those suffering in Palestine. It’s gotten to a point where food needs to fall from the sky so people won’t starve to death. Remember those people, Muslim and Christian alike. Draw from them and pray for them. Afterwards, do something. Donate. Share. Write. Protest. Volunteer.

God willing this Ramadan will bring a flood of blessings for ALL the tyrannized in the world. We’re not free until everyone is free. Minimizing sin is a way out. Start from there and let the blessings fall.

If you are enjoying these works, please click on the donate button by my name. It goes to my PayPal account. Thanks and God bless.

--

--

Omar Bayramoglu
Omar Thinks

After 35 years, I learned how to construct sentences and put together ideas. From NJ to the Bay and now in CT, here's my shot. Thank you for being here.