Omar Bayramoglu
Omar Thinks
Published in
1 min readNov 16, 2023

--

Omar Thinks: War thoughts

I found this in some old notes. It’s from a few weeks ago. I’m working on fleshing out something else. Hope this treats you well.

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

After chatting with my wife, some thoughts came to mind. War brings out a bad side of us. It’s hard to do the right thing in a life or death situation. We justify what we can to get our hit back on the other. The nation-state has brought a lot of problems. In my lifetime, Bosnia massacres (a word suggested by my keyboard just now), Sudan splitting, Palestine, Muslims and Christians getting harassed by Hindus in India, etc have occurred.

In the last day and a half, someone hit back and it hurt. We find Hamas and friends pushing back against Israel in an unprecedented way. At what cost did Israel create their state? That is a serious question to have.

In the meantime, it’s even harder to do the right thing due to the history between both parties. How and based on what, can actions be justified? It’s easy to see it from the Israeli side. My wife pushed me to see it from the Hamas side. 😐 Where’s the red line for them?

--

--

Omar Bayramoglu
Omar Thinks

After 35 years, I learned how to construct sentences and put together ideas. From NJ to the Bay and now in CT, here's my shot. Thank you for being here.