I Was Struggling with PTSD, Now I Help to Cure It Through AI

Read the brave story of Anam from Pakistan who was struggling with Post-Traumatic-Stress Disorder (PTSD) after her dad was in a critical health condition. She had to prepare for entrance exams while taking care of her siblings for several months.

Michael Burkhardt
Omdena
Published in
5 min readJun 14, 2019

--

It is truly amazing how many inspiring individuals have applied to our Collaborative AI Challenges. I am very honored to share the story of Anam today from whom I learned a lot by just speaking and listening to her.

She has been part of our Global AI Challenge on Building a Machine Learning Model for PTSD treatment.

Anam, tell us your story.

I am a Computer Science student and before that, I was actually a pre-medical student. I switched a lot of majors. The thing in Pakistan is, after studying biology, you can either become a doctor or a dentist.

I wanted to do research but there weren’t many options.

That is why I decided to switch to computer science and for that, we have to study mathematics before college.

--

--

Michael Burkhardt
Omdena
Editor for

Slow Travel | Meditation | Founding Member, CMO @Omdena