Martin Dimitrov/Getty

Find Out How Much Time You Waste Watching TV

What could you do with the time you spend watching all of ‘Big Little Lies’?

Diamond Brown
OMGFacts
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2017

--

Hi, I’m Diamond and I’m a television addict. *Cue the “Hi, Diamond” response from my fellow TV addicts.* I’ve been addicted since I was a kid. It started with “The Nanny” then slowly but surely developed into “Chewing Gum,” “Stranger Things” and “Orange is the New Black” — basically whatever Netflix has to offer. When I realize how many hours I’ve dedicated to television, I start to feel horrible about myself.

Unsplash

To add insult to injury, Omni Calculator’s TV Alternatives calculator told me exactly what I could be doing with all that time spent staring at a screen. When I plugged in a little bit of information about myself, including my age, how many hours of TV I watch in a day (about 4) and how many words I read in a minute (280), the calculator displayed how I could improve my lifestyle and health if I spent less time watching TV.

Omni Calculator determined that if I spent my TV-watching time cycling instead, I could lose 3.92 pounds in a week and boost my life expectancy by almost 10 years. Alternatively, if I were to use my “Bachelor” or “Jane the Virgin” time reading books, I could read 438.3 books in a year. Of course, I’m not going to give up my TV watching for good, but this information does give me the incentive to dedicate a few hours to exercise or reading so I can better myself in the long run.

Now if only the tool could calculate what I could be doing instead of eating a pint of ice cream in one sitting.

--

--

Diamond Brown
OMGFacts

Currently: @Dose & @OMGFacts. Full-time 90s Nick enthusiast. Twitter: @HereIsDime