Poolside Chat — Sir-Kao-Pad

OMGPool
OMGPool
Published in
4 min readJun 5, 2020

With the end of cryptowinter, what better way to enjoy the exciting sunny days ahead than to relax by the pool? Therefore, OMGpool is excited to introduce Poolside Chats, a series of articles where we showcase die hard members of the OMG community!

We’re honored to kick off our first session with the legendary Sir-Kao-Pad, one of the admins of both the official and the unofficial OMG Network Telegram, and one of the community’s foremost breadcrumb finders (e.g. https://kumu.io/vnbns/omg, put together by Raum Schiff with the breadcrumbs of Sir-Kao-Pad and his Telegram friends)!

Always no excite , like a rock

Tell us a bit about yourself!

Sir-Kao-Pad: I’m a Salamander, I live under rocks… :smile:
All memes aside , I’m was born In Ireland and grew up there in the South East by the sea. But I have lived in Thailand for almost 9 years, married and happy.

How’d you first get into crypto?

Sir-Kao-Pad: My first adventure in crypto was in 2011 back in Ireland, and was Bitcoin. BTC early use was a means of payment on the dark web and my brother and me had a shared wallet, which we, after I had left for a trip to Australia and became resident later in Thailand, had completely forgotten about. That’s until I was scrolling Facebook one day and there was a pushed advertisement telling me that BTC was over 7000$!

I soon contacted my brother and asked him to go through my box of stuff I had left stored to find the keys to the old wallet we were using. Making it short, we sold on the 10th of December 2017 ^^

What made OMG stick out to you above the rest?

Sir-Kao-Pad: It was just after I had sold BTC. I started growing a much bigger interest in crypto and researching the newer ideas. I had of course heard about Ethereum. Then my wife asked me about OMG one day because they “were Thai”, so I started reading... I was hooked right away to their idea to scale these slower PoW blockchains, with the support of some big names in the industry.

Have you ever tried to explain the OMG Network to friends or family? If so, how did you try to explain it, and did it make sense to them?

Sir-Kao-Pad: To this day, I am still trying to explain it all to my wife. She is not thrilled about hearing it. The numbers going up is more interesting to her than the details.

As the OMG Network matures, what are you looking forward to?

Sir-Kao-Pad: I’m looking forward to keeping the block producer honest through incentivized staking! OMG Network is the railway needed to build on top of and I’m excited to see all these uses cases pop up and the transactional volume rise.

What suggestions do you have for OMGpool (e.g. improvements or new tools for the community)

Sir-Kao-Pad: OMGpool are an amazing group that have produced some very good explainer videos. They also created the staking calculator, and they plan to run a watcher where u can track transactions. I hope also to stake in a OMGpool incentivized watcher when the time comes.

And a fun one to end with: what’s your favorite OMG meme?

Sir-Kao-Pad:

Soona Lisa

and 🦎🦎🦎

If you could nominate a top 3 of members of the community to a Poolside Chat, who would you love to hear from?

Sir-Kao-Pad: Jagermaster , Barrygib and OiiO

Jagermaster it is! Thank you Sir-Kao-Pad

OMG Pool (omgpool.org) is building the first open-source, community-driven staking pool for OmiseGO.

Be sure to check out our staking rewards calculator on our website omgpool.org.

If you’d like to be the first to hear about the staking pool when it launches, sign up for email updates here or in the form below.

Follow us on Twitter
Join our Telegram
Join our subreddit
Email us at: contact@omgpool.org

--

--

OMGPool
OMGPool
Editor for

OMGPool is the largest community-driven staking pool for the OmiseGo (OMG) financial network.