5 Discontinued Candy Bars That Make You Go, “Hum?”

Old Dude
Omigods!
Published in
4 min readSep 9, 2019

--

So what makes a good candy bar disappear off the shelves? I mean considerable amounts of time and money are spent on research and development, so sure candy makers only bring those candies that they think will make millions.

Right?

Here are five candy bars that are now gone. I wonder what happened to them?

PB Max

Mars made PB Max “snack” that was a short-lived candy bar in the 90s. I think it was ahead of its time because it was sold with candy bars, but really, I think it wanted to be a protein bar or a healthier choice candy bar.

It was rumored that the PB Max was nixed by the family because they did not like peanut butter. It sold really well and made millions which is kind of the point, I think.

I love peanuts in my candy bars but not peanut butter, so I can kind of believe the conspiracy theory. Well, except for the the part where I would rather not have millions of dollars just because I don’t like peanut butter.

BarNone

I think I have established that I like peanuts in my candy bars, so BarNone was always a delicious choice. It had wafer, chocolate cream, and peanuts covered in chocolate. You could not go wrong with this one!

Well, wait, unless you get a bright idea and change it by adding caramel and then split it into two bars, which is what they did. That kind of changes it and then you have a candy that seems like something else. Then your candy bar goes away.

Hershey’s S’mores

Okay, the Hershey’s S’mores sounds like a dream right? It had chocolate, marshmallow, and graham crackers. You know, like a s’more. This should have been a no-brainer, but they were discontinued. Why? Too expensive? I’m not sure, but perhaps the experience of making a s’more yourself over a campfire with your family and friends is too nostalgic to just go out and buy one already made.

Reese’s Peanut Butter & Banana Creme Cups

Back in 2007, for the 30th anniversary of Elvis’s death, Hersey’s released limited edition Reese’s Peanut Butter & Banana Creme Cups. Why would I include this candy bar on my list if I know it was a limited edition? It’s Elvis, baby!

I was not fortune enough to have eaten one of these peanut butter and banana cups, because I somehow missed the sale of them altogether. I did make a peanut butter and banana sandwich once from a recipe that I got on my visit to Graceland. It gave me and every member of my family severe heartburn. But, I’m sure, these peanut butter and banana creme cups would have be a dream before they disappeared, too.

Marathon Bar

Mars made a chocolate bar that I actually ate! Marathon bars reminded me of a braided leather belt but made of chocolate over caramel. I enjoyed eating them but they too disappeared off shelves. I saw that they were given a different name and are sold overseas.

Candy, Why Are You So Delicious?

I’m not really sure why candy is so delicious, but it is. There are so many choices out there that it is impossible to notice when a candy disappears. There are a lot of social media and petition pages out there dedicated to bringing back fan favorites. Good luck my friends, and eat away!

discontinued candy bars pinterest

--

--