What Were the Top 10 Toy Lines of the 1970s?

Old Dude
Omigods!
Published in
1 min readApr 20, 2020

If you grew up in the 1970s, you no doubt remember toy lines like Tonka, G.I. Joe, Barbie, The Six Million Dollar Man, and on and on and on.

While we may not have had as many choices as today’s kids do, we sure had some great ones … and more than we could ever hope to accumulate for ourselves.

Recently I came across the video above from WatchMojo.com running down their picks for the top 10 toy lines of the 1970s. You should watch the vid for full details, but their choices were (in reverse order) …

  • Hungry Hungy Hippos
  • Punch-Me’s
  • Pogo Sticks
  • Walkie-Talkies
  • Fisher-Price Garage
  • Star Wars Toys
  • View-Master
  • Lite-Brite
  • Simon
  • Hot Wheels

So, what do you think of this list? Is Hot Wheels the #1 toy line of the 1970s.

And what’s missing?

Personally, I would have included my opening list above, as well as Stretch Armstrong and maybe Big Wheel.

But we all play different, I suppose … let me know your picks in the comments!

--

--