Why is public speaking important, and how has it helped me?

Omkar Rajesh
omkarwriter
Published in
2 min readAug 29, 2020

This is a short article that will persuade you to practice public speaking skills…

A man presenting something- Public speaking skills

Public speaking is an essential skill for everyone in this world. I do enjoy public speaking, and overall I can say that I have fought dreadfulness fearlessly and facing obstacles that come in my way, I have broken down the barrier of fear and started speaking courageously to a large number of audience. Based on my opinion, public speaking skills help enhance your grammatical, pronunciation and critical thinking skills. It would also help your writing skills, as you’ll also have to write a script for what you’re going to talk about if you are a beginner public speaker. Some professional public speakers can talk without memorizing or glancing at a written speech, what I mean to say is that professional public speakers can speak endlessly without practising a speech by-heart, that means they have an outstanding critical thinking power. I am not a professional speaker, but I am one of the million people who have been influenced by practising public speaking. Let’s look at the past(about me), I used to be a very shy kid, I used to hesitate to speak to the people around me. When people just used to say “hello” to me, I used to look down and say hello in such a bashful manner, I used to envy myself. When I first heard about public speaking, I exactly did not know what exactly public speaking means, but my trainer/guru taught me public speaking skills, she sharpened and elevated and flattered my public speaking skills, next she encouraged me to give Trinity College London exams (that would actually prove how good your public speaking skills are). Thanks to my trainer, finally I could prove how good I am in public speaking. When I think about my public speaking skills I reflect back to times when I used to hesitate to talk to people. Therefore coming to a final conclusion, I have ameliorated and grasped public speaking. I feel conceited about myself. So, everyone who is reading this article, please this is a quote that I think would motivate you to enhance your public speaking skills :

“No matter how shy and timorous you are, you must practise public speaking, as it is a key component to build a well-established profile of yourself…..”-Omkar Rajesh

--

--