Dodgers Stadium Review

Jackson Messineo
OmniSports
4 min readAug 31, 2023

--

Photo by Jackson Messineo

Dodgers Stadium, the home of the Los Angeles Dodgers, was a very good stadium. I was honestly very surprised because from what I have seen from previous reviews, it was a stadium that looked old and was stuck in the past.

I kept my expectations low.

When I got there, I noticed the parking takes up all the outside part of the stadium, although that may sound obvious, some stadiums have meetup spots outside of the entrance. But there wasn’t any that I could see.

Photo by Jackson Messineo

The one thing I love about California that I wrote about in my Oracle Park review is the palm trees. Any place that has palm trees is at least a 5/10 for me.

But seriously, the palm trees surrounding the outfield part of the stadium are gorgeous and really fit the aesthetic of Los Angeles and California as a whole.

Now as you walk into the main entrance of the stadium, you walk right into the concourse area, with places to get food everywhere.

I walked around with my family multiple times, and I saw at least 5 or 6 places called Dodger Dogs, this isn’t a bad thing, but it shows you that the Dodger Dogs are the best thing to have there.

The other food options are great. I personally had tacos because I’m not a fan of hot dogs, but I still totally recommend having the Dodger Dogs. I’ve heard so many great things about them.

The only downside of the concourse area for me is that you are forced to walk through it to get to your seats, which is cool if it wasn’t super crowded literally all the time.

Having to walk through that area to get to anywhere I wanted to go made me super stressed out because there were just people everywhere–you couldn’t hear yourself think. You may think it’s normal for a baseball stadium, but I believe this could have been designed a little bit better.

Photo by Jackson Messineo

Behind the main food area, there are two statues of Dodger legends. One of Jackie Robinson, and another of Sandy Koufax. The statues are super pleasing to look at and are extremely well-detailed.

There are a few places you can go to after the concourse, you could go down the stairs to see some memorabilia, or you could go up the stairs to more restaurants, a team store, or your seats.

Starting off with the memorabilia area, one thing I noticed about Dodger Stadium, that Oracle Park also has, is a huge wall with a bunch of bobbleheads. The difference is that Oracle Park only had players from their team, the San Francisco Giants, but the Dodgers have bobbleheads from every team in the MLB. It was very pleasing to see bobbleheads from my team the New York Mets in a rival’s stadium.

If you’re into souvenirs, the Dodgers have many team stores throughout their stadium. The one that I went to was huge–you can see it as you walk up the stairs at the entrance of the stadium. Although the prices are outrageous, it’s still a great place to just look around.

The only thing I’m willing to get when I go to a new stadium is a souvenir mini bat. I try to get at least one thing from a stadium. My dad suggested, “why not get a mini bat from every stadium we go too”. And I have ever since.

If you’re looking to bring your kids somewhere during the game if they get bored, there is an area in centerfield with objects that you go in and spin around in. It’s hard to describe because I’ve never seen them before, but my little brother and all the other kids were enjoying it, so it must be fun.

Now to the game itself.

The crowd had such a vibe. Out of all the stadiums I’ve been to so far, the Giants and the Dodgers had the best crowd in my opinion. The only time I heard booing was when Dodgers fans booed Yuli Gurriel (former Houston Astro) whenever stepped up to the plate.

It might have something to do with both teams being used to winning. As a Met fan who isn’t used to winning, I’m not used to crowds that are chill like this. Everyone was also super friendly. There were some people who were talking to complete strangers like they were friends for years. It was just so cool to see.

The game was such a blast too. It was so cool to see a team win for a change. I also learned that every Dodgers fan loves Kike Hernandez. Every time he went up to bat, he was cheered for even more then star players like Mookie Betts and Freddie Freeman.

Photo by Jackson Messineo

Overall, this stadium is a must visit. I recommend going in and getting your food asap, because if you don’t, the lines will get super long and there will be nowhere to sit. Lastly, if you’re at a night game and want to get a good sunset, the outfield area is a great place to see part of it.

--

--