The big ask…. Getting to know Omnitude’s brand director — Jon Harris

Omnitude
Omnitude
Published in
2 min readMar 15, 2018

1. Where do you live, work and play?

I lead a rather transient life at the moment… I live in Crawley, Sussex, work in Worthing and play in Brighton. My holdall is my friend!

2. Describe your role in Omnitude

I am the Brand Director, responsible for the creation and delivery of the Omnitude brand across a wide range of communications. It’s my job to try to understand the very clever people we have in the business and shape their ideas so that they can be understood by everyone…. Me included!

3. What do you love about your job?

I get to work with the nicest people you will ever meet.

4. How long have you worked in the ‘tech’ industry?

I have worked in branding and design for over 20 years and never seen anything quite like this!

5. What are your favourite things?

I love a good film…. Quite partial to a bad one if I’m honest, a decent pint of IPA or Guinness never goes amiss, love music… some Tom Waits, Nick Cave or a splash of Neu! always perks me up. Books! Love them as well, though I need glasses but haven’t got any yet so my reading is not what it used to be.

My Kids are my greatest love though, they never fail to keep me on my toes.

6. Why does blockchain technology excite you?

Because I think it could help bring societal change through trust protocols. Which mean we get to stitch back new communities to replace the old ones that have been blown apart through the relentless progress of the twentieth century. Sounds hardcore I know but a soft revolution has got to be preferred to a hard one, hasn’t it?

7. What are your biggest hopes and fears regarding the future of blockchain technology?

I hope that it doesn’t get hijacked by established organisations that want to suppress it’s innate ability to bring change.

I fear that it will be misunderstood as just a framework for cryptocurrencies and that the real benefits of blockchain will be drowned by FUD.

8. Have you invested in ICOs?

I haven’t… never touched them, never really thought it was an option for me, now look at it!

9. What’s your claim to fame?

I once took a swing at Marilyn Manson for trying to nick my pint

or I’ve snogged Alex James from Blur

or Me and Dylan Thomas have both been violently ill on the same set of steps at the Colony Club

or I spent many years naming dildos

10. What does the success of Omnitude look like to you?

Billboard in Times Square… Nope all the billboards in Times Square!

--

--

Omnitude
Omnitude

The official Medium account of Omnitude - a middleware layer allowing businesses to adopt blockchain quickly and efficiently.