The Big Ask — Getting to know Omnitude’s Programme Director Ian Clay

Omnitude
Omnitude
Published in
3 min readAug 7, 2018

What does our Programme Director Ian Clay do at Omnitude? What does he love about his job? And what is it about blockchain technology that excites him?

1. Where do you live, work and play?
I live in the UK. Work tends to be where it is needed. In terms of play, when not being beaten up on a rugby pitch, I spend it being beaten up by my wife and kids :). (Normally because I have spent too much time on the rugby pitch).

2. Describe your role in Omnitude?
My role at Omnitude is managing and coordinating the activity as we turn the Omnitude vision into a working reality. Effectively my job is to work with the the wider teams tasked with delivering the Omnitude solutions and apps to ensure we have a clear programme of work, and make sure that we deliver the work to schedule in the priority agreed. Ensuring the stakeholders are clear on the risks, issues and dependencies we have for delivering the programme.

3. What do you love about your job?
What’s great about my job is that I see the all aspects of the programme and see how the various elements join together to deliver the end state. As a bonus I get to learn new things. In the last week I’ve learnt a lot about the Public Transport System in Malta, continue to learn the vocabulary used in Blockchain and that the oldest prehistoric structures in Europe are in Malta.

4. How long have you worked in the ‘tech’ industry?
I have worked in various business roles throughout my career, mainly in Supply Chain and Logistics. These have tended to be project and programme type roles. Many of these have been technology oriented but focused on business outcomes.

5. What are your favourite things?
Family
Rugby
Red Wine
Finding moments of tranquility in the chaos
Sleep

6. Why does blockchain technology excite you?
It excites me because of its potential and the fact its applications are endless. But ultimately the reason this technology is exciting is because it will allow individuals to directly transact in a secure and efficient manner. Where this technology takes us may be truly revolutionary.

7. What are your biggest hopes and fears regarding the future of blockchain technology?
My hope is that it truly lives up to its potential and is used to provide real solutions to real challenges facing the world and society today, and in essence can be used to truly empower individuals in society to better to realise their potential.

My fear is that it ends up being overly controlled and regulated to a point where its growth and potential remains unfulfilled.

8. Have you invested in ICOs?
No.

9. What’s your claim to fame?
I once served Princess Anne mineral water when I worked as a silver service waiter. She probably doesn’t remember me.

10. What does the success of Omnitude look like to you?
For me the success of Omnitude will be when we are synonymous with Blockchain. We are the leaders in our space and the ecosystem we create becomes the standard by which others are measured.

--

--

Omnitude
Omnitude

The official Medium account of Omnitude - a middleware layer allowing businesses to adopt blockchain quickly and efficiently.