I Spent $15.33 on Snapchat Filters

And had huge results at Kanye West’s L.A. popup

Alex Kehr
On Advertising
3 min readAug 25, 2016

--

When I saw that Kanye West was going to have 21 Pablo popup shops around the globe last weekend, I knew that this was a great opportunity to spread the word about Geofilter Place (Now LocationPop). There would be lines of our target audience scattered around the globe waiting to go inside one of his stores to get his coveted apparel.

Knowing that our target audience would be waiting in line looking for something to do, I figured that Snapchat would be the ultimate way to reach and engage these bored (but excited!) people. This hunch would prove to be very right.

However, since Geofilter Place is being done in a bootstrapped fashion now, I wasn’t prepared to make a big bet on just a hunch.

Since I wasn’t ready to spend a lot on these ads, I decided to hone in on the Los Angeles Pablo popup (mainly so I could go check out the Geofilter in person), and then only have the Geofilter be active an hour or two before the shop opened until an hour after it closed.

This strategy made my daily spends on the Snapchat Geofilters be the following:

  • Friday: $5.00
  • Saturday: $5.00
  • Sunday: $5.33

The total spend was $15.33, and the results were surprisingly big. But, before I get to the results, I should probably share what our Geofilter looked like:

Now take a quick guess on how many views we got. 500 views, 1,000 views, 20,000 views? None of those are right. It was way more.

In three days, our “Pablo Popup” Geofilter was used 1,101 times and viewed 214,257 times!

214,257 targeted views of our content for $15.33

All of those views were great, but, because you can’t send people to websites with ads on Snapchat I needed a way to get traffic to Geofilter Place. I decided to get traffic by leveraging the /r/kanye Reddit community.

I uploaded a screenshot of our Geofilter to Geofilter Place (view here) and posted that page to /r/kanye with the headline “I put a Snapchat Geofilter on the LA Pablo Popup all weekend.”

My post to /r/kanye instantly soared to the top and sent a decent amount of targeted traffic to the Geofilter Place website.

What I find most interesting about the traffic we received is that it was actually quality traffic that spent time on our site. 97.58% of people who visited were new to the Geofilter Place website, and the bounce rate was unusually low at just 2.67%. Most people stuck around and browsed the site a bit (something that is very unusual for Reddit).

A screenshot of our Google Analytics data.

Most importantly, we had sales (potentially all attributed to Reddit). At this time, I estimate that we had around $80 in sales from this Geofilter and post. While this isn’t an earth shattering number, it’s still impressive since we only spent $15.33. To give this number more meaning, you can think of it this way: for each $1 that we spent on our Geofilter earned us back $5.33.

Should your business try Geofilters?

Geofilters on Snapchat are definitely something you should be experimenting with for your business. If you can create one where your target audience hangs out, you can reach them in a fun and unique way — while potentially getting a lot of eyeballs on your branded content.

If you want to give Geofilters a try for your business, I’d love for you to request invite only access to the Geofilters for Business product that we’re piloting on LocationPop. Click here to learn more about it.

Click here to request early access to LocationPop.

--

--