I’m David Richelson, Here’s How I’m Breaking the Mold

Break the Mold, Change the World

David Richelson
On Breaking the Mold
4 min readOct 17, 2016

--

Hi, my name is David Richelson, and I am going to change the world. How you might ask? By starting my own business and earning money on my own terms. Living a free life is the biggest and best way to bring freedom to others.

Why did you decide to do Praxis?
Praxis is the rocket fuel that will get me to the moon. I’m going to change the world by starting a business, and Praxis will give me the tools to do it. I’ll learn life skills like a bias for action, create 12 PDPs (Personal Development Projects), learn how to grow a customer base, and how to be an everyday-entrepreneur (seeking how to do things better at home, at coffee shops, at grocery stores, etc. not necessarily at work).

In one sentence, what’s your philosophy of work?
“Turn on, Tune in, Drop out.” When I get in the zone, the whole world around me melts into oblivion while I hammer away at what I’m working on. I adopt a natural flow. I can go for hours in this state. The only thing that “wakes” me up is bodily needs. My phone usually has 3 or 4 missed messages and Facebook has exploded over a scandal several times before I notice.

What’s the one thing about you that no one knows?
I’ve biked 100 miles in a day. Bicycling in general is a euphoric experience for me. I love to bike. Unfortunately, Michigan roads are built like Hot Wheels tracks: they are set up for epic crashes. So biking scares me sometimes.

How are you currently pushing yourself to get better?
I’m writing every day for the next 30 days. It’s surprisingly hard. I’ve done it before, but since I took a hiatus, it’s been hard to get started again. This experience is the opposite of riding a bike: I have to learn how to do it again. I definitely plan on keeping up this practice as long as I can.

What tools do you use to organize your work?
Coffee! Caffeine is a helluva drug. It supercharges me. My fingers become like lightning!

How do you motivate yourself to be productive during bad days?
I watch this video:

What books, podcasts, or other resources do you rely on to boost your inspiration?
I go to these podcasts and refresh myself with controversial opinions:

I go to this link to remind myself to be brave:

I go to these books to remind me that I must keep writing. It is not a choice.

Seth’s book, “What To Do When It’s Your Turn” is exactly the kind of thing that will force you to put pen to paper.

Words I Live By

How bad do you want it? -Anonymous

This quote puts all of my values into perspective. Everything becomes perfectly hierarchically organized. I know exactly what everything is worth and what I would trade for what. It forces me to recognize the opportunity cost of all of my actions. I become keenly aware that my time is limited and I need to spend it wisely.

The world is waiting, not for us to fit in, but for us to shine. I break the mold a little more every day and I show others that they should follow suit. It is scary and risky, but it’s worth it. Find what matters to you and make it happen.

--

--

David Richelson
On Breaking the Mold

Every-day Entrepreneur, Praxis participant, Solidworks Master