Praxis: A Homeschooler’s Next Step

Ben Schoel
On Breaking the Mold
3 min readSep 13, 2020
Photo by Kiefer Likens on Unsplash

Being homeschooled has had a huge impact on my life. It gave me the luxury of having more free time than my peers in public school, but it forced me to schedule myself and be responsible for my work.

Many students this year are now beginning to get a taste of what homeschooling is like, as coronavirus has been forcing many places to move to online education. I know some friends who hate having to work from home, but many of my public or private schooled friends are enjoying being able to schedule themselves a bit more than usual.

I enjoy hearing the people who used to make fun of homeschoolers now talking about permanently switching over to home education. I understand why. I love having the ability to be more self-directed. That’s why I’ve recommended Praxis to all my homeschooled friends.

Why Praxis?

The Praxis program pushes students to self-schedule. The very first week shows participants how to effectively block out their time! Coming from a homeschooled background, I found this to be very natural, but also challenging in the specificity that was needed. Praxis asks its participants to schedule out not just places they need to go outside of their homes, but to also schedule homework! It forced me to avoid procrastination, and I’ve never once looked back.

The fact that Praxis is all online education will be familiar with the vast majority of homeschoolers. Most homeschoolers know their way around an internet course. We know how to listen to pre-recorded lectures, take tests online, and pay attention to a computer screen, even when we’re surrounded by distractions.

Many homeschool families have lots of kids. Mine is no exception. Having to help edit and correct little sibling’s homework is something that I am certain many others have had to do. I remember spending entire afternoons helping my brother work on and edit papers. So when editing and commenting on other participant’s work became part of my weekly schedule, I felt right at home. I had learned by high school how to tactfully correct other’s work. I’ve improved even more since starting Praxis!

Don’t Forget The Awesome Community!

I’ve always hated the stereotype that homeschoolers don’t have friends, or that we’re all really awkward. From my experience, it just isn’t true! Most of the time, at least. But what I WILL say is that homeschooled students are often adept at conversing with people who are both much younger and much older than them, while those who are pubic/private schooled tend to talk mostly with others their age. Once again, this is where the homeschooler thrives in the Praxis program. Praxis has a much larger age range than public/private schools. While there is a maximum age to enter, the diversity in both age and experience is nothing to scoff at. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed interacting with many people ahead of me in experience, as it motivates me to be the best version of myself I can possibly be.

I can’t help but be genuinely amazed by how well the Praxis program lends itself to homeschoolers. I’m not saying that Praxis isn’t a good fit for public or private schooled students, or college dropouts. I’m just showing you all just how easy it has been for me to acclimate to the Praxis environment, and a huge portion of that comes from my homeschooled past. If you’re self-driven, creative, and want to fight the college norm, then I promise you’ll feel right at home.

Check out discoverpraxis.com. And if you’ve been homeschooled like me, know this: A great alternative to college lies ahead, and it might be more similar than you think.

--

--

Ben Schoel
On Breaking the Mold

A curious and adventurous mind, always ready to push boundaries and forge the new trail.