What Spending $59.44 on Facebook Ads Taught Me

Breakdown of my First FB Ads Campaign

Stuart Sim
8 min readMay 4, 2014

After being a long time reader, I wanted to become a (longtime) doer. Part of being a doer was getting out there and just doing “it”; whatever it was. It didn’t matter what “it” was, just so long as I got it going. Not doing “it” would most likely just result with me doing nothing; just like when I started teaching myself programming, what language I was going to try to learn didn’t matter; just learning something is what counted.

That’s what I wanted to do, my goal started along the lines of

I wanted to get out there and DO SOMETHING

I ended up deciding on trying to start a fan page on Facebook for a few reasons (scroll down a bit if you just wish to see the results of the campaign and not the reasoning as to why I did it).

Why Start with Facebook?

  1. I could start within minutes

So I read this article on Medium where Dragos Bernat talks about using a “2 Minute Rule” to “to gain momentum. This momentum gives me a kick in the ass for when I procrastinate or am scared of just starting. Once I start, everything starts to flow together. It helps take away my negative thoughts and focuses on the doing

And that’s what I wanted as well. While I’m not scared of putting in time or effort to really do something right, I knew that if I didn’t do something which…

--

--