Must-Have Apps For Conference Attendees

Thomas Peham
my homescreen
Published in
3 min readNov 7, 2015

--

The Slush 15, the biggest Tech conference in the Nordic countries, is only a couple of days away.

And since I’m joining the Slush for the first time, I began my usual pre-conference planning routine.

Without any proper planning such events can be quite overwhelming and messy.

And since I do not want to be locked to my laptop, I’m trying to improve my conference experience with the following mobile apps.

Conference App

In most cases, there are official conference apps available. I definitely recommend to research & download those apps before traveling to the conference (gosh, public WiFi can sometimes be really bad).

If you’re also at the #Slush15, I’d recommend to check out the official Slush app for iOS and Android.

Evernote

Evernote is a no-brainer for me. Everything goes into Evernote. Storing talk notes, meeting notes or any other tiny detail, helps me to not forget about something when coming home after some exhausting conference days.

https://evernote.com

Twitter

I guess at most tech / startup / marketing conference there are a lot of people hanging out on Twitter. Therefore Twitter is a great place to connect with people while attending a conference.

Connecting before the event takes place.

I also recommend to search for official hashtags BEFORE the event takes place.

In most cases the Twitter stream isn’t that noisy before the event which enables you to connect with like-minded people and arrange meetings for the conference.

If you’re a Twitter boy or girl like me, you might also set up your own Twitter list with interesting people.

For example, I created this Twitter list of #Slush15 a week before the event. Every other day I skim through the Twitter feed looking for interesting people which 1) are attending the #Slush15 and 2) tweeting about it. So when the Slush is about to start I already have my customized and personal #Slush15 stream :)

PS: I truly recommend the Tweetbot app for iOS.

Sunrise Calendar

Ok. This one is important as well. If you’re organized and prepared for the event you probably arranged a couple of meetings with people at the event.

So, your calendar app is one of the most important apps during the event. I definitely recommend to keep every (little) meeting you’ve arranged in your calendar.

https://www.sunrise.am

Treatings

So you probably haven’t heard about Treatings. I would describe Treatings as the modern Linkedin. Treatings lets you find like-minded people or people working in certain industries.

The difference to Linkedin is, that Treatings is location-based, so it basically shows you like-minded people in your surroundings.

So if you’re at a conference, chances are high that other people in your niche are around you. Treatings helps you to find them and let’s you arrange coffee meetings with them.

https://www.treatings.co/

Grip

Another networking app is Grip. Similar to Treatings it let’s you find people.

The difference to Treatings however is, that you choose a community first and it’s not location based.

It works like Tinder. For business.

You swipe right if you want to connect & meet with someone. You swipe left, if you don’t want to meet that person.

http://www.getgrip.io/

What’s your must-have app when attending a conference? Let me know on twitter @tompeham!

PS: Are you at the Slush15 next week? Say hi and ping me for a drink ☕️

--

--

Thomas Peham
my homescreen

Marketing freelancer. Interested in SaaS / marketing / B2B / growth. Travel slow. https://thomas-peham.com