Minimalism: An Update

Elias Froehlich
on minimalism
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2014

Two years. Three sometime soon, I think.

A cluttered space is one without peace, and peace is a wholly vital element of a good and true life. This, I think, is what initially brought me to minimalism, whether it was conscious or sub, I do not know.

I suppose it does not matter too greatly, the only important part is that I've gotten here and I have no intention of leaving, at least not for quite a while. If I'm honest, minimalism has truly helped me and I believe it has greatly improved my life. No longer do I seem to have the greatly difficult chore of cleaning my room, now it’s simply a matter of picking up the few clothes I’ve left on the floor and vacuuming if it’s needed. Benefits are also readily seen throughout my morning routine. I no longer have to search for school things, they're just on my desk. Getting dressed is no longer an ordeal of sifting through great masses of clothing. I only own clothes I like and enjoy wearing. Expanding even further, I no longer lose things around my room. I may still lose the occasional item when I'm out, but there is never the case of losing something within my own room. Everything I need is out in the open or in a place I know it belongs. Pencils? Small box on my desk. Clean paper? Third drawer down. Everything has a place and so long as I remember to put things back in those proper places I have no reason to ever scramble around in a frantic search. This is likely the most noticeable improvement I've found as a direct result of my adoption of minimalism.

On a slightly more subtle note, I've found myself much more organized mentally. I feel quickly when it comes to remembering things even. In school I feel as though I have a better mind for facts and figures and logical thinking. This of course is a correlation, not a causation, but I solid one in my opinion.

This is what minimalism has done for me. I may not have the beautifully sleek spaces that some do, though I much prefer the easing of frequented routines and cognitive improvements that all the subtraction has brought me.

--

--