Love Ya! Forever!

Ramblin' Rose
On Mothering
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2013

--

When my children were small they so enjoyed having me read the children’s book, Love You Forever by Robert Munsch. Basically the story stresses how a mother will love her baby boy as he develops through the various stages of life. I enjoyed the story as much as my children did and usually ended the reading with tears rolling down my cheeks.

Love is a delightful thing. Loyal, life-long love is the stuff of legends. Love that cannot be shaken, stunted or stopped is so awe inspiring as to change people forever. If we can open our hearts even while knowing the thorny truth that loving can make us vulnerable and open to pain, we can learn to love loyally and unconditionally.

Like so many of us, Ramblin’ Rose has been on the receiving end of love that was very conditional. Such controlling love leaves us awfully achy sometimes. By the Grace of God, this Ramblin’ Rose was led to her life partner at the tender age of eighteen. At twenty I was married to my husband whose unconditional love fed my soul in a way that had to be designed by our Heavenly Father. I no longer needed to be guarded or frightened, Rose was able to blossom.

Today I love with all of my being, knowing that some won’t be able to return the favor. Once I have made a space in my heart for you, you become what my friends laugh at me for referring to as one of “my people”.

So…to all of my people: Love Ya! Forever!!

--

--

Ramblin' Rose
On Mothering

I am a student of life. An observer, a tinkerer and a thinker. I have six kids and spend time searching for the truth and even more trying to live it.