The Weird Secret I’ve Learned About Dieting

And I’m Not Really on a Diet

Chris Brogan
On Ownership

--

I’ve been working actively on my health in different ways for about a year. To be really honest, part of what’s been taking me so long to get to where I want to go is that I love to flail around. I’ll try the Paleo diet (meat and veggies, no grain, no dairy, no sugar). I’ll try eating mostly plant-powered. I’ll try eating less. I’ll try eating less sugar. You know. All that stuff. Oh, and I do fitness stuff, too. But this is about diet. And it’s about a weird secret.

I Found MY Way to Eat Right

Could I stress that this is my path? You might have to choose a different one, based on whatever’s going on in your life and your beliefs, and all that. But if you’re interested, I’ll tell you what two details have completely conquered one facet of eating what I’m “supposed” to eat.

The first is water. I learned that if I drink the equivalent of my body weight in ounces, divided by two (currently a little less than one gallon of water), every single day. It sounds like a lot of water, doesn’t it? I’ll tell you something else: I trained myself to drink two gallons. That’s not as easy, but you know, after you get used to peeing a lot, you can do it.

The second is protein. I’ve learned that by upping my protein intake higher than most folks normally have, I have put a full on control over my appetite. I mean like crazy informercial control. I mean like I have to push myself to eat sometimes control.

But what does this all mean?

You Still Need a Plan

While I’m writing this, you have to realize I’m still fat. I’m working on it, but I’m fat. Who takes eating advice from a fat man?

Here’s what I know: I have a plan. The plan I’m following comes from my coach, Britton Kelley , with help from my girlfriend, Jacqueline Carly (who has a masters in nutrition, and is working on her PhD in mind/body medicine). In my plan is a lot of protein because I am working hard on building muscle and shedding fat. I work out as many as 12 times a week right now (morning cardio and PM weight lifting). My plan is low carb, and that’s because nearly every diet in some way or another cuts out some kind of macronutrient (fat, carbohydrates, or protein) which makes calories come down.

But your plan might be different. An endurance athlete might need those carbohydrates. A heavyweight fighter might require even more protein than me.

I Only Offer This In Case You Find It Useful

The water trick and the protein trick are working like crazy for me. I’m on a great path. Between Coach Kelley’s fitness plan and his guidance of my nutrition, I’m going to be successful this time and for years to come.

You can argue. You can tell me your method. You can show me other ways. It’s all fine. I will smile politely. But if you want to try something, water (your bodyweight divided by two in ounces every day — flavors are okay), and protein (a little harder to give you a prescription, but a gram per pound of your bodyweight each day seems to come up a lot online).

It’s working for me.

Chris Brogan is publisher of Owner magazine, dedicated to your business success. Health is an important part of being a successful owner, don’t you agree?

--

--