Powerless in London. Or not.

Marc Violo
On Purpose Stories
Published in
2 min readMay 30, 2017

I lived in a number of cosmopolitan mega-cities in life, in Asia and Europe. London is the latest one I had to accommodate myself with and adapt to. I was very excited at the prospect of settling in one of the world’s most vibrant capitals. A city of opportunities. A space constantly blooming with personality, from its inhabitants to its businesses.

What I suspected less, was the gap in wealth visible from a street corner to another and the striking hardship endured by so many, struggling to maintain a bare minimum of life stability. Prospects of better standards of living or employment for the less fortunate segment seem distant, but there is something which seems to hold this pluri-cultural city together. Communities.

I have never so frequently felt the need for support of people of all ages, genders and races living on the edges of society, questioning my role and my actions when faced with these regular encounters. Often leaving me puzzled and powerless.

With time, new encounters and more awareness of this city’s ecosystem, I saw more examples of community led support groups, organisations and socially minded individuals as I have ever witnessed. I met with people so driven by the community work and service they provided, that I felt inspired to act in a less self-centred way. Committing to not see myself as another animal in the rat race, but as one that can help my community peers, participate and converse to move forward more resiliently. 8 month in, I’ve gone from powerless to inspired and engaged. As an American president once said, you can’t help everyone but everyone can help someone.

I found a lot of hope in the power of communities coming together and what results from it. I hope you will too.

--

--