The value of coaches and mentors

On Purpose
On Purpose Stories
Published in
3 min readMar 21, 2013

One of the many reasons I wanted to join On Purpose was due to the skills and knowledge I was expecting to develop over the course of the year. This has indeed been the case, with some of my favourite trainings looking at business culture, problem solving and the key issues which need solving around the world. Unexpectedly, however, it is through the one-on-one support from my coach and mentor that I feel I have benefited the most.

The sessions with my coach have helped me to reflect on the bigger, long-term picture and to discuss my own personal development. The MBTI assessment (a theory which explains how people perceive the world and make decisions) was a good starting point. Although I was already aware of what some of my own ‘preferences’ might be, the MBTI assessment and subsequent discussions with both my coach and mentor have helped me better understand how I function and interact with other people. This has tied in well with a number of other training sessions I have had with the Associates, and it has given me a few key points to focus on for the rest of the year and beyond.

The sessions with my mentor have been more focused on the day-to-day work in my placement at Trees for Cities. It has been really helpful to talk through my work and ideas, as well as to receive some invaluable tips and feedback. It has been particularly useful to have a perspective from someone who is experienced and independent to my placement. The regular meetings mean that my mentor has a good idea of the work I have been doing, providing great support over the past six months.

[caption id=”attachment_4813" align=”aligncenter” width=”300"]

Ian Wright backs the Mayor’s mentoring scheme[/caption]

I now appreciate how much this support can help any individual. It can have significant benefits for children and young people at what is a particularly influential and important time of their lives, helping them to realise their potential. I have recently come across a couple of interesting organisations which provide mentoring/coaching (the meanings are often intertwined/confused) to young people:

  • The Salmon Youth Centre runs a mentoring programme for 10–16 year olds, mostly focusing on black males, under the Mayor’s mentoring programme (click on the image above to see a video on ex-footballer Ian Wright’s support for the Mayor’s scheme). Salmon Youth Centre are looking to launch a new programme for 16–24 year olds called the ‘Future and Hope Employment Project’.
  • Brightside has an online Ementoring platform which provides support to young people aged 14–19. Volunteer mentors and mentees communicate through a secure online space.

Both these organisations are looking for mentors, so get in touch with them if you want to get involved! I am also interested to hear about other mentoring schemes out there, so please post them in the comments section below.

On Purpose is currently recruiting it’s next cohort of Associates, starting in October 2013. To find out more and apply, visit here.

--

--

On Purpose
On Purpose Stories

Our mission is to create an economy that works for all— one that is fair & sustainable in the long-term. We run programmes developing leadership for this future