Am I Too Old?

To change myself

Lipika Agrawal
On Reflection
1 min readOct 11, 2023

--

Photo by Connor Wang on Unsplash

In the things I never say,
in the things I never admit,
it is there between the lines,
where the real truth exists.

In the look of an eye,
in snide taunts that slip by,
in feelings I constantly deny,
that is where the truth lies.

The truth of my reality,
the truth of my being.
The truth of what is
really distressing me.

Yet I continue to ignore,
all that pains me.
There is certain strength needed,
to face the reality ,
of my decisions failing me.

And I don’t have it yet,
the strength to face my failures.
Their face too ugly,
their weight too heavy.

If only I had the strength,
to face everything buried.
I could cross over,
start anew,
past all my fears.

But alas, that is far-fetched,
because I’m too old,
to change my views.

So I tell myself,
the same old lies.
Continuing the pretense,
of an illusionary merry life.

--

--

Lipika Agrawal
On Reflection

Storyteller | Poet | A grain of sand in the universe