“I Love You” Is The Most Beautiful Phrase In The English Language

I wish I could say it to my grandfather one last time

Matt Lillywhite
On Reflection

--

Image licensed via IStockPhoto

I walked into my grandfather’s home, not knowing what to expect. He normally sat in the living room with a freshly brewed cup of coffee. However, on that fateful day, my grandfather was nowhere to be seen.

“Come over here,” said my mom. “Grandad is lying in bed and his condition is deteriorating. It’s the only chance you’ll have to say goodbye.”

I walked down the corridor and noticed several photos from my childhood displayed on the wall. In hindsight, that wasn’t a surprise as my grandfather had always been a proud family man. But, as I opened the bedroom door, tears streamed down my cheeks as I realized we were about to have our last conversation.

Nothing could have prepared me for the heartbreaking task of saying goodbye. A giant lump of sadness lingered in my throat and prevented me from saying what was on my mind in an articulate manner. So, as I stood by my grandfather’s bedside in the final weeks of his life, all I could muster was three words: “I love you.”

My grandfather smiled and looked toward a picture of us together mounted on the bedroom wall. I was six years old back then, and we were on vacation in Australia. It must’ve been 100…

--

--

Matt Lillywhite
On Reflection

Full-time storyteller. Want to talk about writing? I'm offering video calls for people who sign up to my Substack. https://mattlillywhite.substack.com/