On the BTS Meal

Yong Yee Chong
On Something
Published in
4 min readMay 30, 2021

--

10 pieces of nuggets, purple fandom, and curious onlookers

The BTS Meal -more than just a meal-

On May 26, international phenomenon BTS released their BTS meal as a collaboration with McDonald’s. In Malaysia and every other corner of the world where these limited-time nuggets are available, the proud fandom (BTS army) has shown its immense presence — either showing up physically at the nearest McDonald’s or causing online platform/delivery app some serious traffic. Fun fact: McDonald’s official Facebook page revealed that Malaysia was the first Asian country to debut this meal ahead of Singapore and South Korea.

The next day, I ordered the set using the McDonald’s delivery app. I did it at breakfast because I expected that there might be delays due to high demands again just like on Day 1. It was for my dinner as I had to go through a hectic Thursday as usual. It was a delayed gratification for me to reward myself for hard work. There were some mini-episodes before the meal safely arrived at my doorstep though. I reflected on the experience using an Instagram post and cross-shared it to my Facebook. At some points, a few hours after the post went out, I felt ridiculed by comments and most of them were judgments without understanding.

Reflection on my experience

First of all, I am not a BTS army, to begin with. However, in such a situation, I can empathize…

--

--

Yong Yee Chong
On Something

I am a sport scholar who writes about personal stories and intersectional identity.