Yo. I’m here to help.

Will Dennis
2 min readApr 23, 2013

By definition, first time start up founders are unqualified for their job. Every day, they’re doing something they’ve never done before. What an amazingly scary privilege.

So. How can I help you?

I’m extremely appreciative of all the people who have helped me over my short entrepreneurial career. I still have so much to learn, but I’d like to start returning the favor.

Whether it was an in-person intro by a friend or a cold email I sent, the people who took 30 seconds to help are the ones I truly appreciate, respect, and remember.

They’re also the ones that make the start up ecosystem great.

So respond to emails. Take that coffee meeting. Hop on a quick call. Take down your email autoresponder. Ease up on your get-in-touch-with-me-gauntlet-from-hell. Brighten someone’s inbox when they’re stressed-the-fuck-out at 2am.

Just. Be. Helpful.

Because as founders, we’re all over-caffeinated and under-resourced. Sometimes a quick note from someone with a little experience is all it takes for you to make a more informed decision and inspire you to keep pushing.

I’ve included below an unordered list of things with which I have at least some experience. If you think I can be helpful in any of the below areas (or any other area for that matter), please send me an email at williamldennis@gmail.com or hit up @willydennis on Twitter.

You can also find out more about me at willdennis.com.

And of course, any advice will come with a big ‘ol grain of salt.

  • Raising Angel Funding
  • Pivoting
  • Raising VC
  • Designing for iPhone and Web
  • Learning Ruby on Rails and CSS
  • AngelList
  • Hiring Contractors
  • Firing Employees
  • Hiring Employees
  • Determining Equity Splits
  • Convertible Notes vs Equity
  • Finding a Technical Cofounder
  • Maxing out Credit Cards
  • The NYC start up scene vs the SF start up scene
  • Being broke
  • Managing a relationship while starting a company
  • Failing and restarting
  • Divesting
  • Getting press
  • Rebranding
  • Logo Design
  • Applying to Incubators
  • Building a pitch deck
  • Acquiring your first 5,000 users
  • Peer to peer marketplaces
  • Online video
  • Mobile apps
  • Being in an incubator
  • Investor relations
  • Learning Photoshop and Illustrator
  • Cold calling/emailing
  • Pitching at a tech conference
  • Having a booth at a tech conference
  • Starting more than one company
  • Work life balance
  • Partnerships
  • Figuring out if your idea is any good
  • et al.

--

--