Dear January…WTF Just Happened in Sports?!

Chris Spina
On The Couch Sports
3 min readJan 18, 2017
What The F%#$ Is Happening In Sports Right Now?!

I honestly don’t know what it is about 2017, but things have certainly been…interesting. Beyond the roller coaster-like political landscape that currently faces us, we’ve seen our fair share of nonsensical stories in sports as well. But don’t worry, we’re here to help you sort through some of the most bizarre sports incidents of 2017 so far.

Antonio Brown Reminds Everyone What It Means To Be A Diva WR

Personally, I love Antonio Brown. He’s not the biggest or strongest, but he’s arguably the best WR in the NFL right now. He does incredible things on the field, but might have made his greatest impact off the field in the locker-room after the Steelers’ playoff bout with the Chiefs.

Brown, in a stroke of genius (or stupidity), decided it was a good idea to hop on Facebook Live during Head Coach Mike Tomlin’s post-game speech. I mean, those commercials make it seem so easy, right? Well, let me tell you, it was ELECTRIC.

I mean this is easily the best sports content I’ve ever seen. It gives the public a glimpse into real locker-room talk (c.c. Trump), and shows us just how intense Tomlin can be. We see him in the post-game press conferences and on the sidelines with nearly unmatched ferocity, and I think the only time Tomlin will be more amped up is in his next conversation with Antonio.

In fact, the only thing that could best this video is being privy to that next interaction between Tomlin and Brown, so we’ve gone ahead and started a petition to encourage Antonio to Facebook Live that convo. Just think about how awesome that would be…

Sean McVay Goes From Boy to Man (and the youngest NFL HC ever)

Man, this Sean McVay guy really knows how to ruin your day. In being named the new Head Coach of the Los Angeles Rams, McVay, at 30 years old, became the youngest NFL Head Coach in history. What the f*$@ are we doing with our lives?

But in all seriousness, I think McVay is going to be a stud. Any coach that accomplished what he did within the dysfunction that is the Washington Redskins is a heck-of-a-coach in my book. After all, he did lead the Skins offense to the 3rd best YPG in the league this season.

With comparisons to Jon Gruden, McVay certainly has a promising future, I’m just not sure it’s going to be in his first stint with the atrocious Rams. But I definitely don’t blame him for taking his shot.

Derrick Rose Just Doesn’t Show Up To Work

In one of the weirdest stories I’ve seen in sports, New York Knicks PG Derrick Rose was a complete no-show for the Knicks’ matchup with the Pelicans on January 9th. Literally, he just didn’t show up and no one had heard from him.

Now he claims that he was rushing back to Chicago to tend to a family emergency, but he also said that he needed some “space” to get away. So which one is it, Mr. Rose?

I mean we’ve all been there. You wake up, check your alarm, hit the snooze button, and decide you’re taking a personal day. But when I say “we,” I generally mean those of us who aren’t making millions playing basketball.

Plus, most of us would do the responsible thing and call into work faking sick with our perfected cough timing. I mean, it’s the least you can do. You’re telling me there was no time to make a phone call while waiting for your flight? Even I’m not buying that.

Well, we’re just over 2 weeks into 2017, and it’s been quite the ride up to this point. Who knows what comes next?

--

--