Friday Fifteen: June 9, 2017

Rich Edwards
On The Couch Sports
2 min readJun 9, 2017

Look I know the argument becomes tiring, but I personally love diving into the MJ/Lebron debate. It gets me fired up every time. I’ve always held the position that MJ was greater than Lebron, but not better than Lebron. Obviously, Lebron’s career isn’t finished yet, however the 2017 NBA Finals have been very telling in my opinion. Personally, I was shocked at so many people thinking this was going 7, and that’s neither here nor there, but for once I actually agree with Stephen A. Smith. If Lebron gets swept for what would be the second time in the finals, I don’t want him mentioned in any more GOAT conversations. Have you ever seen a more passive superstar? I’m not talking about not taking the final “shot” because I can never fault LBJ for making the right basketball play at all times. Don’t tell me because he passed to a somewhat open Kyle Korver with under a minute left that he’s not asserting himself. That was the 100% correct basketball play. But for him to be the second greatest basketball player of all time at this point and not even TOUCH the ball on the Cavs final possession while he watched Kyrie run ISO ball with the game hanging in the balance? That speaks volumes to me. I don’t think Lebron had to win this series to keep in in the conversation with MJ, but he needed to steal a game on his own at least. Get the brooms out.

Summer has officially started and I figured I’d give some summery vibes to kick it off. This week features plenty of jams including The Knocks, Lemaitre, Empire of the Sun and more. As my good friend Tomo (TO) says, find your beach this weekend. He came up with that, on his own…I think.

--

--