Friday Fifteen: Mar. 24, 2017

Rich Edwards
On The Couch Sports
2 min readMar 24, 2017

So as my Villanova Wildcats crashed out of the first weekend again, it pained me to continue watching the tournament. However, the biggest consolation prize of every tournament followed, an early exit for Duke basketball. Which got me to thinking, why does Jay Wright get the critisism he does, whereas Mike Krzyzewski does not? I know I’m slightly biased, but it’s a point worth mentioning. Now, I’m also not dumb. I will preface this argument by saying Coach K is obviously an all time superior coach to Jay Wright (for now). I would never suggest something otherwise. With that being said, people always ask “what have you done lately” to the Villanova squad. With last year’s championship officially in the past, the Duke Blue Devils and the Villanova Wildcats have had virtually similar resumes if you go back the last decade. Since 2004–05, Duke has two titles, but aside from that has only made the Elite 8 once. This is mixed in with a handful of Sweet 16/first weekend losses. In the same time, Jay and Co. has one title, one Final 4, and one Elite 8 appearance to go along with that same handful of early tournament losses. Pretty similar if you ask me, and on top of that you could easily argue Coack K had more talent to work with. Well, it’s not an argument. He did have more talent. So while the narrative that Jay can’t get out of the first weekend has some validity to it, he deserves to be able to share some of that burden with a certain legendary coach.

As for the music, unfortunately took a week off last week. St. Patrick’s Day will do that to some. But this week had plenty people want. Frank Ocean, Zhu, Thundercat, Madeon, Odesza, and more.

--

--