Friday Fifteen: May 12, 2017

Rich Edwards
On The Couch Sports
2 min readMay 12, 2017

So this Sunday the New York Yankees are retiring Derek Jeter’s number 2. As a Yankee fan I know I’m going to be stuck in a glass case of emotion. I’ve always said that my childhood officially ended when Derek Jeter retired. It may be a little sad, but all of the ads that are coming out for him actually make me choke up. Because I really think he’s the only sports hero I have that hasn’t been tainted by anything. Always playing the right way, saying the right things, never being in the wrong place at the wrong time. In this age of Instagram, Snapchat, and Twitter, it is becoming easier and easier for athletes to distance themselves from fans. The difference was that Jeter was relatable, just like us, you know, minus the supermodel girlfriend, HOF baseball career, and overall quality of life. He went out in New York and enjoyed the nightlife. He was a cool guy to hang around the clubhouse with according to teammates. He had fun playing baseball, but was also self aware enough to know that he was employed by the Yankees and that he had a job to do on the field. All of the things that made him a great athlete to look up to. I was just thankful to be able to witness the majority of his career. I for one, can’t WAIT to see who doesn’t give him a Hall of Fame vote. If Derek Jeter isn’t a unanimous HOF selection, I don’t know who is. So as baseball fans, or fans of sports in general, watch this Sunday and pay some respect to arguably the greatest Yankee of all time. Sorry, wait scratch that. RE2PECT (ugh, I hated that campaign…)

As for the music, a little bit more of a chill vibe this time around. New Calvin Harris ft. Future and Khalid off his recently announced album, Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1, which will inevitably be an album full of heaters. Some Danny Brown over some old school hip hop beats and flow. Some nu-disco sounds from both Mat Zo along with Lemaitre and The Knocks just in time for summer. Rolling right into the weekend. Enjoy ya’ll.

P.S. Special edition coming next Friday. Gonna get HYPE

--

--