Revisiting Preseason Predictions

Couch Commish
On The Couch Sports
2 min readJul 17, 2017

This is a follow-up to my predictions article. Let’s see how I’m doing so far. I’m just happy anything involving Kyle Schwarber being good did not make the final cut.

The Bad:

Archer will be the top AL pitcher

Yeah I so I guess I forgot Chris Sale is better. Also, Dallas Keuchel revival was real before the injury.

Ken Giles is a top three closer

Still like this guy a lot, but the consistency isn’t quite there for a top 3 season in 2017. Also, the Astros offense is so good that save chances haven’t been consistently there.

The Maybe:

Billy Hamilton will get 85 steals

Still possible. He’s gotta stay healthy and pick the pace up by just a bit. I’d say we have about a 33% of this happening.

Felix Hernandez has a FIP of 5+

Current FIP is 5.1. He’s been hurt and in general all the stats are trending in the wrong direction for the once ace pitcher. I’d give myself a better than 50/50 shot on this one.

The Good:

Carlos Correa will be worth more than Manny Machado.

Now I’ll admit that my reasoning (Correa’s steals) is off, but the prediction is looking good. Manny has struggled this season and Correa is mashing. Unfortunately neither is helping you in the SB category.

--

--