4 Proven Strategies for Strengthening Your Self-Esteem

Begin with your environment.

Nnamdi Samuel
On The Couch
Published in
3 min readNov 19, 2023

--

Photo by Ruthson Zimmerman on Unsplash

During my high school years in West Africa, I was surrounded by tens of classmates who were “super-intelligent”, came from wealthy homes, and whose parents were in academia.

I came from a family that was contrary to theirs and coupled with the steady bullying I received from them, I was intimidated, felt inferior, and simply felt it was natural to have them lead the class.

This was a toxic environment for me. It killed my self-esteem, and I felt I was good for nothing. I performed badly; they all did better than me.

I got into another group of students who were also intelligent but treated me fairly. This made me feel a little more important.

It marked a new beginning for me.

“The worst loneliness is to not be comfortable with yourself.” ― Mark Twain

Setting the stage

Your environment serves as a great tool for building you.

Being aware of your environment is a crucial step in building your self-esteem.

I had a better perception of myself and had great confidence in myself when my environment changed—in this case, a change in the group of classmates I had.

My academic performance improved afterwards, helping my self-esteem level up significantly.

Are you around people who don’t celebrate you, undermine your worth, or push you to accomplish seemingly giant tasks? Take note, because an environment like this can influence you negatively. You may forever feel inferior, meaning your true potential won’t be reached.

What’s the picture in your mirror?

According to Stephen Richards, author of “Boost Your Self-Esteem”:

“The first place where self-esteem begins its journey is within us.”

When you look in the mirror, who stares back? That image is more than just a physical representation—it reflects our perception of ourselves, influencing our confidence, decisions, and overall well-being.

Our self-esteem is intricately tied to how we perceive ourselves. If the reflection in our mental mirror is distorted by self-doubt, criticism, or negative beliefs, it can hinder personal growth, well-being and potential. Conversely, a positive self-perception levels up your confidence, resilience, and sense of fulfillment.

In addition, your view of yourself will influence the way others treat you — so it’s important to begin the journey within.

Gradually climb the pyramid

As humans, there is often the desire to skip steps and achieve big goals quickly. But completing small tasks works like a propeller. It fuels us, giving us the motivation to carry on to the next task.

On the other hand, when huge, complex goals are tackled first, it may prime you for failure. And that kills not just your drive and motivation but also your self-esteem. It may even make you feel unworthy of achieving simpler goals.

As you tick off small, simple goals, your confidence level rises and, with it, your self-esteem.

Seek to accomplish small tasks first, then gradually move on to more complex ones. This way, you build the stamina you need to sustain you in chasing more complex goals.

Appreciate yourself

Proper reflection on our progress is underrated.

We often don’t give enough importance or attention to thoroughly and thoughtfully assessing our growth, achievements, and development over time.

Train yourself to notice the things you have already done, the changes and progress you have made towards building your self-esteem.

Celebrate when you respond to situations in new, healthy ways — contrary to the way you’ve done things in the past. Appreciate yourself and be grateful; you’re getting better!

Conclusion

Building your self-esteem is a gradual process that requires self-awareness, self-acceptance, and continuous effort. Be patient, and be sensitive to your environment.

The path to a healthier self-image is within reach for everyone. So begin your journey today.

“Be faithful to that which exists within yourself.”
Andre Gide

Thank you for reading! If you found this interesting, kindly support me by following me and subscribing to my latest articles. Feel free to reach out to me on LinkedIn.

--

--

Nnamdi Samuel
On The Couch

Lifelong learner || Productivity Enthusiast || Engineer