6 Questions To Ask If You’re Stuck In Your Current Life Chapter

“What can do today to get closer to where I want to be?”

Molly Burford
On The Couch
Published in
4 min readJan 21, 2024

--

Ivan Samkov

Periods of stagnancy happen to the best of us.

There are various reasons we end up feeling stuck such as a dead-end job, burnout, a toxic relationship, or mental health problems such as anxiety or depression.

Sometimes, there is no single reason for our stalled state. Other times, there are many factors, making it difficult to get our momentum back.

For the past several years I have felt lost, unsure of what direction to take next. I have been aware that something needs to change, but I haven’t been able to pinpoint what it is.

I have my theories: Mental health struggles, one-sided friendships, family troubles, a lack of self-love, financial worries, and a whole lot of things in between.

In short, I’ve been a hot mess and terribly unhappy. I’m tired of it. I’m ready for my life to change because I can no longer accept it as it is.

It’s been said that the first step to fixing any problem is awareness of it, and this awareness will require curiosity, non-judgment, and complete honesty. It will be uncomfortable but it may also set you free.

--

--