Your Mind Holds the Secret to Lasting Weight Loss

A four-minute masterclass on how to tap into it.

Karen Nimmo
On The Couch
Published in
4 min readDec 29, 2021

--

My client had a successful coaching career, a healthy relationship, two great kids. She had a nice house, an enviable income and fun, supportive friends. Her life was about as good as it gets.

Except for one thing. Her weight. “I don’t get it,” she said. “How can I be so successful in every area of my life, except this? How come I can coach other people to do anything? But I can’t do this for myself.”

When we met she was down on herself for regaining the weight she’d spent a year losing. She had tried diets, detox programmes, exercise classes. She’d lifted weights and hired a personal trainer.

Everything worked a bit. Until it didn’t. Her weight would yo-yo up and down. Nothing would stick. Now, she was worried about her health. “I’m a candidate for diabetes so I no longer have a choice, I have to get healthy.”

“I’m wondering: Is the problem in my mind?”

Out With the Old: Building a New Mindset

Early in my psychology career I saw people for a session pre-weight loss surgery. The aim was to ensure they were well-informed about the process and solid in their decision.

--

--

Karen Nimmo
On The Couch

Clinical psychologist, author of 4 books. Editor of On the Couch: Practical psychology for health and happiness. karen@onthecouch.co.nz