Military Dating Tips — A Guy’s Perspective

Sarah Jane Lamberth
On the Net
Published in
5 min readJun 19, 2020

--

Photo by Jorge Gardner on Unsplash

It’s no secret that relationships in the military have its challenges. Between training and constant deployments, maintaining a healthy love life can feel impossible. The horror stories of high divorce rates and infidelity don’t help either.

So is love in the military doomed?

I sat down with Mark Delaney from The Veteran Professional to discuss dating in the military. With the military being a male-dominated environment, I felt it was important to have a male perspective when discussing this topic.

Do you mind sharing a little bit about yourself?

After I commissioned, I went active duty in the Army as an infantry officer for the first four years with the 82nd Airborne. During that time, I deployed to Iraq in 2015. I came back from deployment early to go into the Civil Affairs selection and qualification course. I spent the last four years of my Army career as a Civil Affairs officer. I deployed to Syria and Saudia Arabia.

This past December, I exited the military. The plan was to get out and travel the world for nine months before starting my MBA in the fall. Coronavirus came in and ruined that plan for me, so I ended up returning to the states and moving in with my family to help out with them until school starts.

--

--