Why Being Different Has Been the Best Thing in Life

Aleesha Lauray
3 min readJul 9, 2018

I remember when I first started homeschooling my oldest son.

Despite having purposefully moved to a top-notch school district, at the end of my son’s second grade year, I found myself utterly frustrated with some of the things that had been going on.

A couple of weeks into summer break, I was sitting at my desk, thinking of a solution and the idea of homeschool popped into my mind.

I started to shake my head as if to dislodge it, but over the next month the idea grew and grew.

By the end of the summer, I made my decision.

I had done my research and though I was a bit nervous, I wanted to give this homeschool thing a shot.

When the time came to announce the decision to family and friends, there was not a single person who was on my side.

Photo by Jonas Verstuyft on Unsplash

It was a foreign idea that jolted familiar realities and people tend to object to what they don’t know.

Even I had my qualms at first, but I chose to cross into the unknown. This time it was beautiful and not the scary monster others had thought.

--

--