The write way to embrace courage, joy, and optimism.

The heading is a mouthful, so let’s skip the subtitle.

Smriti Richard
On the Seesaw
5 min readJul 17, 2023

--

Photo by Ann H from Pexels

If you’ve been following my writing, you probably notice a pattern by now. I have been captivated by the likes of joy, optimism, and courage. Or at least by the curvy quest for it.

Earlier, I wrote about my partner’s penchant for creative experiments in the kitchen and how it inspired me to make friends with failure. I have talked about joy being a metric for creativity and growth. And I have even explored the idea of choosing joy amongst the throng of productivity preaching. Even after traversing the topic from various perspectives, these ethereal human emotions still fascinate me.

My quest to understand their meaning in my life has certainly been a meandering adventure with a path that is unlikely to be completely conquered. Because can we ever be content with the joy we feel or the courage we have mustered?

In my case though, it’s not about finding contentment, but a search for abundance in tempestuous times. And in stormy seasons, I turn to writing.

The power of writing is immense. The very act of penning our musings onto paper (or digital paper) can give more clarity and shape to our thoughts. Visualising an idea or feeling in words or drawings gives us a fresh perspective and helps us be more objective. Getting thoughts out of our heads and onto another medium gives our minds the space to ponder.

Photo by Pavel Danilyuk

Writing is an act of courage. It requires us to be naked with our emotions and allow them to flow unrestrained. Author Neil Gaiman once said “Write your story as it needs to be written. Write it honestly, and tell it as best you can. I’m not sure that there are any other rules. Not ones that matter.”

Life is wild, and when things get noisy, use Gaiman’s advice and write down your story earnestly. It will empower you to see things in a different light.

  • Writing allows us to create a distance between us and our challenges, giving us the space to accept things for what they are. With acceptance, comes a sense of relief from the weight we’ve been burdening our minds with.
  • In mindfulness, you’re taught to take the perspective of a witness or observer into your own life and give yourself the advice and compassion that you would give a loved one in the same situation. To me, writing about my life has been synonymous to being a witness.
  • Words bring our innermost emotions to life and in doing so, we can perhaps see that the worry we’ve been carrying is not so serious after all.

When you write, you’re not just being brave and vulnerable with your deepest and darkest thoughts, but you can also welcome more optimism.

  • When you’ve penned down your worries, you can now take a different perspective about the challenge. You can even be more optimistic about things to come.
  • You can invite more joy into your life by writing down what you’re grateful for even though parts of your aren’t what you hoped they would be. And soon enough, you’ll realise that it’s just parts and not your whole life that is turbulent.
  • And if you’re like me and enjoy writing, the act itself can energise you and give you the creative inspiration you need in dire moments.

Earlier I said that in stormy seasons, I turn to writing. That would be a lie. I write almost everday through changing periods, eras, and occasions. When life is wonderful, writing allows me to capture that joy and spark, and transform it into creativity. I can see that an idea that I have been toying with actually has potential. But writing when times are arduous is even more impactful.

Your writing can be shared with the world or reserved for your eyes only. Here are the many ways I write — maybe they can serve as inspiration for you.

  • I write in my personal journal regularly. It has amazingly helped me become more self aware. The happy memoirs fill my cup with positivity and are preserved as reminders for when I need them. The more poignant ones help me cultivate compassion for myself.
  • You can write here on Medium. Or anywhere, really! I find it almost cathartic to share my journey with other readers. This article is a great example in itself because as I am writing it, I am reminding myself to weather storms using the power of words.
  • At times, I need something a little less structured. So, I doodle and write without a purpose in a book reserved for aimless wandering. Random ideas just scribbled onto paper until I run out of thoughts.
Photo by Mikhail Nilov

It can be intimidating to begin writing, so start small and don’t think too much. Committing your sentiments, worries, intentions, and goals to paper makes it more likely for you to understand them better and take action.

While journalists, authors, and creatives may have a talent for great writing, words are a privilege for everyone to play with. You don’t have to be writer, just be a tinkerer.

Hi! I’m Smriti, a product designer doing her best work at the intersection of design, technology, and well-being. Writing is my favorite form of creativity, and I share interesting stories about design and everyday life. If you’ve ever liked what I write, I just want to say a big joyful thank you. 🙌

If you liked it a lot, I’d appreciate it if you followed this page and left me a comment about what resonated with you. That helps me curate the best content for you. ✌🏼

--

--

Smriti Richard
On the Seesaw

Maker of products by day, tinkerer in words by night. I write about design, creativity, and the spark of everyday life.