First Person

Close Encounters of the Hollywood Kind

How I searched for the truth about UFOs by writing fiction, and learned the world really is stranger than you imagine.

Bryce Zabel
Point of Contact
Published in
10 min readAug 3, 2020

--

(L) White Mountains, New Hampshire, 2018 w/ Jackie Zabel — (R) Reflecting Pool, Washington, D.C., 1995 w/ Brent V. Friedman

An Unsettling Quest

For over thirty years now, I’ve been on an unsettling quest to know the difference between what may or may not be true on the UFO front, and to consider how we ought to deal with it. I’ve had the chance to have my creative feelings on the subject expressed in multiple TV series and films, plus a non-fiction book. Mostly, it’s been a blast, with a few moments that were odd and troubling.

Since transparency is everything, particularly in the field of UFOs and UAP reality, I think all of us who hope to influence this Brave New World we’re entering need to be open about our past experiences and relationships with the subject. In that spirit, here’s a short summary of the UFO experiences that shaped my journey.

To this day, I can’t tell you exactly what I think is going on in our skies and oceans because my mind is still not made up since evidence has been so shrouded in secrecy. I have opinions and theories. Don’t we all, these days?

--

--

Bryce Zabel
Point of Contact

Writer/producer in features & TV. Creator, five primetime series. Ex: TV Academy CEO; CNN reporter; USC professor. Author of books about the Beatles, JFK, UFOs.