A Few Things I Loved About Resident Evil: Village

Note: It wasn’t just the tall lady.

Andrea Blythe
Once Upon the Weird
7 min readJul 14, 2021

--

Cover art for Resident Evil: Village. (Source: Capcom.)

After struggling for almost a year to make it through the harrowing experience of The Last of Us 2 (I’m still not done), I needed to stop and shift toward a more lighthearted game — something that would bring the fun back to my gaming life.

So, naturally, I turned to Resident Evil: Village.

Following a few years after the events of Resident Evil 7: Biohazard, the story follows Ethan Winters and his wife Mia as they try to deal with the trauma of past events, while building a peaceful life in their new home. Their hopes are dashed, however, when BSAA captain Chris Redfield suddenly attacks them and Ethan is thrust into a new nightmare, fighting to save his kidnapped daughter from the monsters that lurk in a remote mountain village.

As it turned out, Village was exactly the game I need, providing enough cathartic scares and laughs to help me get through stressful days. Here are a few of the reasons why I loved the game.

Mild spoilers ahead.

The Tall Lady is Viciously Divine

--

--

Andrea Blythe
Once Upon the Weird

Author, poet, game writer, and lover of the fantastical, horrifying, and weird. (She/her) https://linktr.ee/andreablythe