Ten Movies and TV Shows I Loved in 2022

Andrea Blythe
Once Upon the Weird
9 min readJan 8, 2023

--

Although I returned to the movie theater experience this year, most of the films I saw on the big screen fell into the entertaining-but-otherwise-underwhelming category of big blockbusters. But that doesn’t mean that I missed out on great movies and shows this year. In fact, it’s been an amazing year of entertainment for me, with a few breaking the top of my all-time favorites list.

Everything Everywhere All at Once

Everything Everywhere All at Once is not just one of the best movies I’ve ever seen this year, it’s also one of the best movies I’ve ever seen period. And I imagine the film has ended up on a multitude of “best of” lists for this year — as it’s a surprising, inventive, and emotionally impactful film.

In the movie, Evelyn Wang (Michelle Yeoh) is a beleaguered woman, who feels ground down by her life as the owner of a laundry mat with her husband Waymond (Ke Huy Quan) and as a mother unable to connect with her daughter, Joy (Stephanie Hsu). When Alpha Waymond suddenly arrives and informs Evelyn that her life is just one of infinite alternate realities, she’s drawn into a battle to save every universe in every reality. Drawing…

--

--

Andrea Blythe
Once Upon the Weird

Author, poet, game writer, and lover of the fantastical, horrifying, and weird. (She/her) https://linktr.ee/andreablythe