Explaining the title

Varsha Varadarajan
One and half minute thoughts
2 min readJun 15, 2020
Thoughts fighting for space (red kidney beans waiting to be cooked)

The human mind is complex. And obviously, this is not news to any of us! Try putting your mind to rest. Ask it to stop. Beg it to stop. No, it will not.

Every minute, every second, every nanosecond, there are thoughts firing off. The brain is a wonderful creation. So complex, so beautiful. To date, I have not been able to wrap my head around the idea of thoughts and ideas being just neurons and the pulses, that they transmit. Trying to wrap my head around the concept of neurons, there, I just fired another set of signals.

Sometimes, these thoughts are so small, so minuscule, that, all it takes for them to go from start to end is 10 seconds. For me, these ideas, these triggers are so powerful, they transform me in a way that never seemed possible earlier. And some other times, well, they are pure trash.

10 seconds to 90 seconds, that’s the amount of time my thoughts stay in my head.

Then they fight, just bouncing off of one another, there, floating like clouds in my head. And when they are tired of fighting, they just die an early death.

This series is an attempt to follow up on those ideas, give them life; ideas I have while I’m drinking my morning coffee, ideas I have while I’m taking online classes, ideas I have while I’m off writing about another idea. I plan to write about them as I’m thinking, without re-reading, without editing.

I hope the words I write, do justice to the thoughts I have!

--

--

Varsha Varadarajan
One and half minute thoughts

Software Engineer, avid reader. A book, a bucket of snacks and endless refills of coffee ~ keeps me happy!