Starting New Chapters, Meeting New People

Lucas Teoh
One Brain Cell
Published in
2 min readAug 31, 2020

First of all, I would like to welcome everyone to my new outlet to express my ideas and thoughts in a manner that seems smart (although they may not be). I plan to write about anything that is running through my mind and keeping me awake at night. Hopefully, such a casual and free concept would be appealing (?) Anyway, my first story would aptly be about starting new chapters and meeting new people:

I’m currently at a point in my life where I’m taking on more responsibilities and meeting so many new people — the twilight zone between a teen and a young adult. Part of the reason why I’m meeting so many new people is due to the fact that I have enlisted in Singapore’s mandatory conscription. Hence, I’m constantly dragged along the different stages and departments in the military and therefore meeting new people. With this, I have started to realise how fast friends come and go, and the importance to quickly converse and form amicable relationships.

Of course, starting a new chapter, albeit entering a new school/workplace or entering a new stage of life, would be daunting. However, it is the new friendships made and old ones from before that would pull you through such tough times and make life that much more enjoyable.

Yet, I have to admit that I have felt drained and exhausted after having to see friends come and go so many times. After all, what is the point of putting in effort in a relationship with an expiry date? It is definitely demoralising to realise that some of the friendships I made were temporary and solely served to pull me through a specific period of time. For now, I am still at the stage where I am unable to fully comprehend this feeling of rapid loss and gain. I personally find it hard to let go of people I have made so many wonderful memories with. Moreover, it is confusing and frustrating to be adding people to my private Instagram account and then guiltily removing them when the time comes.

I am currently moving to a new department in the military and undoubtedly feeling exhausted having to make new friends again knowing that we would probably drift away at the end of our term. Perhaps I will never get used to this constant starting and ending of chapters. However, this might just be the beauty of life and lets us treasure every moment we have as we breathe.

--

--