Letting it Get So Bad

David Fleming
One Christian’s Medical
3 min readNov 4, 2017

The dangers of neglect

I don’t know how many times I’ve heard a patient checking into the ER say:
“It’s been hurting for a while, but now it’s a lot worse”, or “I’ve tried to deal with it, but I can’t take it anymore”.

I always think “Why didn’t you take care of the problem before it got so bad?”

Then it occured to me: How many times do we take this same approach with our own sinful behaviors? How often do we find ourselves saying things like “I’ve been dealing with it for a while, but it’s getting worse”?. Or “I’ve been fighting it for a while, but I can’t take it anymore!”?

Why don’t we fix it before it gets so bad?

If patients would see doctors regularly, and take care of medical problems while they’re minor, they would be healthier. If they would put a little trust in those doctors, and maintain their health proactively, they would save themselves a lot of pain in the future.

If you’re a Christian, I bet you can see where I’m going with this…

Luke 5:31

And Jesus answered them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician,but those who are sick. I have not come to call the righteous but sinners to repentance.” (ESV)

If we Christians would see our Great Physician more regularly, and take care of sin problems which creep in sometimes, WE would be spiritually healthier as well. If we would put more trust in our Physician, and maintain our spiritual health proactively, we would save ourselves a lot of pain and heartache.

Too many patients don’t manage their health problems, or they continue to commit unhealthy behaviors which just make the problems worse, until they are barely recognizable. Sometimes it kills them, when the patients could have added a lot of functional years to their lives. This leaves family members to grieve, wishing the patients had just taken better care of themselves.

Psalms 38:4–6

For my iniquities have gone over my head; like a heavy burden, they are too heavy for me. My wounds stink and fester because of my foolishness, I am utterly bowed down and prostrate; all the day I go about mourning. (ESV)

When we don’t allow our Physician to properly manage our spiritual problems, we run the risk of getting sicker and sicker until we are barely recognizable as the people we once were. Even worse, we risk condemning ourselves to a life of spiritual death, killing all quality of life in Christ.

Don’t do this to yourself (I’ve been there; it’s not fun). Don’t do this to your family who cares about you. Keep regular visits to talk to, listen to, and follow the instructions of The Great Physician. You’ll live a spiritually healthier, happier life, better able to function and be there for others when they need you.

Oh, and don’t worry about appointments or cost of care…walk-ins are welcome, and the price has been paid.

--

--

David Fleming
One Christian’s Medical

A sharer of thought. A writer of short stories. A desire to lift people up.